Festival of Vintage

Festival of Vintage Programme Driving to work on Friday morning (and boy did I have that TGIF feeling), I noticed a direction sign for “Festival of Vintage – 25th – 26th April”. As soon as I got to the Park and Ride I googled it, to find out what it was; I LOVE vintage fairs and adore the Shabby Chic style. I was more than thrilled to discover that it was a full two-day event celebrating the 1930s to the 1960s, I quickly forwarded the link to my Mum and we instantly agreed to go the next day!

I have to admit, I don’t own any actual vintage clothing (as unfortunately because I’m tall they never fit me right – sigh) but I pulled together my most vintage inspired outfit. I wore a white pleated sheer skirt that I bought from the Topshop sales in January for a measly £10!!! A 1950s style pink shirt with a super cute heart pattern, which I purchased from New Look last spring, and I teamed it with a black leather jacket and white canvas plimsolls (£3 from Primark). I pinned my hair back and I felt like I could’ve been Sandy’s best friend in Grease! I was quite pleased with my last minute efforts!

1

It was like vintage heaven when we arrived at the Racecourse, where the festival was held. In fact, my Mum and I felt quite under dressed, as people had really made the most of the occasion and had dressed in their most chic vintage clothing (it turns out there was a competition for the best dressed). The room was filled by the sound of jazz music and crammed with stalls displaying all sorts of vintage items. The first stall we stumbled upon was a music one; selling record players, gramophones, vinyls and radios. Mum and I fell in love with a pale blue Roberts radio player, which we snapped up immediately for £40 (to buy one new from the Revival collection costs £159.99 – so what an absolute bargain!) It is now sat looking pretty in our kitchen.

6

The next purchase to be made was a slice of cake and a cup of tea, whilst listening to the jazz band Louis, Louis, Louis! Oh my gosh, they were amazing, like really good! I’ve already decided that I want them to perform at my 21st birthday party next year, which I’m thinking will be Strictly Come Dancing themed!

We headed up to the next floor, once we were refueled with tea and cake, where I made my next purchase! I’m currently redecorating my bedroom, which of course is going to be vintage, shabby chic inspired, and I found the perfect plate to display on some shelves I’ve got my eye on! It’s vintage meets modern, I’m obsessed with Instagram, so it combines my two favourite things – Instagram and shabby chic, it’s like it was made for me. Check out the stall’s website here.

2

I then went on to buy a lovely handmade fascinator, which will go perfectly with my outfit for a wedding I’m going to in a couple of weeks!

3

We headed outside next, where there was a cute little vintage caravan, that was used as a photo booth,.Mum has a thing for caravans, so it was compulsory that we got our photos taken in it, here’s one of them!

7

I was really hoping to find a shabby chic dressing table, for my new room, at the festival and I did! It was gorgeous! It was 1940s/1950s and had been renovated to perfection, with cute little drawer knobs, lined drawers and wallpapered sides and it was for the bargain price of £75!!! However there was a big BUT… it was the wrong colour 😦 the dressing table was finished in a vintage cream but the rest of my furniture is white. We could have re-painted it but it was finished to such a high standard of quality, it would have been a shame to have painted over it!
The good news was the same stall also had a wooden chair with a cushioned seat, in a really nice green fabric with a pink rose pattern on, which matches some boxes and a bin I already have. The chair was only £25 and was our final purchase of the day! Check out the stall’s Facebook Page.

4

Mum and I both had a lovely day and there was something for everyone. Live music was being played all day, there was dance lessons, fashion shows, craft making, beauty parlours, barbers and more! Fingers crossed it returns next year, click here to view the event’s website.

Oh and here’s a gorgeous vintage prom dress I saw and fell in love with, shame my prom has been and gone (4 years ago…)

5

M x

2 thoughts on “Festival of Vintage

Leave a Reply

