My 1st YorkMix THEATRE REVIEW: When the Lights Go On Again

Hello all, I thought I’d share with you all some exciting news AND a theatre review in one post… This month I have started writing for YorkMix, I write a monthly blog post about the top theatre picks for the York area and I also review shows.
YorkMix is a website for York news, views, entertainment, food and drink and more.

I was asked to review York Musical Theatre Company’s production of When the Lights Go On Again, a wartime concert-like musical, and in return I was given two complimentary tickets. The review was to be published on YorkMix, which many citizens of York read, to access views and opinions they can trust.

Photograph: Andrea Denniss / Pink Lily Photography
Photograph: Andrea Denniss / Pink Lily Photography

I took my lovely Mum along with me and we thoroughly enjoyed the show, we left feeling very content. I wrote the review that night and to my delight I woke up the next morning to an email from the editor of YorkMix that read “great review, captures the heart-warming feel of the show really nicely. Your review is now live!” I was over-the-moon and it made me hungry with ambition. For the first time in a long time I felt like I was finally taking the first-steps to achieving success. It was like a penny had dropped and it confirmed that theatre journalism is what I definitely want to do with my life!

I am now more determined than ever and I’m soooo glad that I decided to take the plunge and go to University to study the subject I’m so passionate about!

If you’d like to take a peek at the review that was published head over to: http://www.yorkmix.com/things-to-do/theatre/review-when-the-lights-go-on-again-joseph-rowntree-theatre/ 

Thank you all for your support!

M x

2 thoughts on “My 1st YorkMix THEATRE REVIEW: When the Lights Go On Again

Leave a Reply

